SEX CRIMES |
ASSAULT CRIMES |
DRUG CRIMES |
THEFT CRIMES |
BALLOT MEASURE 11 |
|Former prosecutor dedicated to the defense
of traffic crimes.
More than 24 years as an Oregon attorney.
|Call today for a no cost
|THE OREGON RECKLESS DRIVING GUIDE|
|MAIN PAGE||OREGON RECKLESS DRIVE LAWYER||OREGON DUI LAWS||OREGON RECKLESS DRIVING LAW|
|"I defend people facing reckless driving charges in Multnomah County, Washington County, and Clackamas County."|
I just got arrested / cited for an Oregon reckless driving charge. What happens now?
If you were charged with reckless driving, you were probably given a citation to appear in court a couple of weeks down the road. Often times, a reckless driving charge is one of several charges a person faces. For example, it is often a companion charge when a person is cited for an Oregon DUII charge especially in Multnomah County. If these companion charges are serious, then you may be booked into custody and brought to court the following business day.
Careless driving is a violation, and an officer cannot arrest you for this offense. [You may be arrested for other criminal charges and also given a citation for careless driving.] An officer will give you a citation for careless driving directing you to appear in court at a future date. Always read your citation carefully so that you understand your options, and do not miss any court date.
What is the difference between careless driving and reckless driving in Oregon?
Although there is a significant difference in the potential penalties faced by a person convicted of careless driving and reckless driving (see below), these offenses are actually defined in a similar manner.
A person commits the offense of careless driving if the person drives any vehicle upon a highway or premises open to the public in a manner that endangers or would be likely to endanger any person or property.
A person commits the offense of reckless driving if the person recklessly drives a vehicle upon a highway or premises open to the public in a manner that endangers the safety of persons or property. “Recklessly,” means that a person is aware of and consciously disregards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the result will occur or that the circumstance exists. The risk must be of such nature and degree that disregard thereof constitutes a gross deviation from the standard of care that a reasonable person would observe in the situation.
What type of penalties do I face if I am convicted of reckless / careless driving?
Reckless driving is a Class A misdemeanor crime. Like all crimes, it carries the possibility of jail time; however, often little or no jail is imposed upon conviction. Conviction of reckless driving does come with a mandatory license suspension of at least 90 days (a longer suspension (either one year or three years) is imposed if you have a previous reckless driving conviction within the last five years).
Careless driving is a violation with a maximum penalty that usually amounts to a fine of a few hundred dollars. However, if the court determines that the commission of the offense contributed to the serious physical injury or death of a vulnerable person on a public way, the court can impose substantial additional penalties. Rarely, a careless driving conviction will result in a one year license suspension. Usually, no suspension results from a conviction.
What about the crime of hit and run?
Hit and run more formally known as failure to perform the duties of a driver can be either a felony or misdemeanor crime. It is a misdemeanor if only property is damaged; it is a felony offense if someone was killed or injured. A misdemeanor hit and run conviction will result in at least a 90 day license suspension.
How many "points" go on my license if I am convicted of reckless driving or careless driving?
The Oregon DMV does not use a point system so no points are assessed. A conviction for either offense will appear on your driving record. An example of a three year driving record available to your insurance company is set forth below.
Can I expunge or seal an arrest or conviction for careless driving or reckless driving?
No. Traffic crime convictions cannot be sealed or expunged under Oregon law. However, an arrest for a traffic crime may be expunged if the charge (and all related charges, if any) is ultimately dismissed (except DUII diversion dismissals).
How do I contact attorney David Lesh for help with my reckless driving case?
Mr. Lesh does not charge for an initial consultation. Call his office at 503.546.2928 to speak with him. Mr. Lesh's office is located at 434 NW 19th Avenue in Portland.
David N Lesh
Oregon Reckless Lawyer
No cost initial consultation
434 NW 19th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
David Lesh Mini Biography
Oregon attorney since 1990;
Former traffic crime prosecutor;
Former Portland Police Bureau lawyer;
Sought after criminal defense attorney.
"Thank you for being such a nice and effective attorney. This was a very scary time for me and you made it almost painless. If I know of someone who needs your expertise in the future, I will highly recommend your name."
State of Oregon
Lawyers and Attorneys
Websites, including this one, provide general information but do not provide legal advice or create a lawyer / client relationship. Consult qualified Oregon reckless driving lawyers / attorneys for advice about any specific problem that you may have. Oregon defense lawyers are governed by the Oregon Code of Professional Responsibility. This website may be considered an advertisement for services under the Code of Professional Responsibility. Information contained in this website is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed. By David N Lesh, firstname.lastname@example.org. All reviews and testimonials on this site are real and were unsolicited.
David Lesh provides reckless driving legal defense to the communities of: Portland Ore., Portland OR, NW Northwest, SW Southwest, SE Southeast, NE Northeast, and N North; Gresham; Beaverton; Hillsboro; Tigard; Lake Oswego; Oregon City; Tualatin; West Linn; Woodburn; Milwaukie; Forest Grove; Wilsonville; Troutdale; Sherwood; Canby; and Multnomah County; Clackamas County; and Washington Counties. Read our privacy statement. Mr. Lesh accepts American Express, Discover, Visa and MasterCard credit cards / card. Copyright 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007.
Reckless driving is a crime often associated with driving under the influence charges.
Alabama DUI Alaska DUI Arizona DUI Arkansas DWI California DUI Colorado DUI Connecticut DUI Delaware DUI Florida DUI Georgia DUI Hawaii DUI Idaho DUI Illinois DUI Indiana DUI Iowa OWI Kansas DUI Kentucky DUI Louisiana DWI Maine OUI Maryland DUI Massachusetts OUI Michigan OWI Minnesota DWI
Missouri DWI Montana DUI Nebraska DWI Nevada DUI New Hampshire DUI New Jersey DWI New Mexico DWI New York DWI North Carolina DWI
North Dakota DUI Ohio DUI Oregon DUII Pennsylvania DUI Rhode Island DUI South Carolina DUI South Dakota DUI Tennessee DUI Texas DWI
Utah DUI Vermont DUI Virginia DUI Washington State DUI Washington D.C. DWI West Virginia DUI Wisconsin OWI Wyoming DWUI